I Need Coffee Because… (A Kid’s Perspective)

Standard

Coffee has bean the grounds of many a heated and strong discussion – and not just amongst coffee snobs (I’m looking at you “I grind my own beans”, French press guy). Now it’s being talked about with our children.

My friend’s eight-year-old daughter passed this note to him, possibly with a twenty she swiped from his wallet (hey, it worked with the babysitter) in an attempt to convince him to pour her a cup of java.  It reads:

I NEED COFFEE BECEUSE…

  1. I love it
  2. I need it
  3. I want it
  4. U get to have it
  5. Mommy gets to have it
  6. It is healthy for U

THE END

I say give her some. Her letter is just as good as the kid from summer camp and there are far worse things to be addicted to. Besides, insomnia builds character.

5 thoughts on “I Need Coffee Because… (A Kid’s Perspective)

  1. Jason, It sounds like your mind is already made up and “there are far worse things to be addicted to” is very telling, but I’ll offer a different perspective.

    Caffeine is a drug that many people, including myself, use frequently to self medicate. Many people, including myself, have developed a dependency.

    Age IS a factor. There are many things that are not necessarily good for adults, but are worse for developing minds and bodies than they are for adults.

    Kids, even more than adults, need to develop coping skills. Allowing them to have a shot of caffeine inhibits their ability to overcome their inner adversity, which keeps them from reaching their maximum potential. The same justification would allow kids to have a little alcohol after a stressful day at school.

    But you are right: “there are far worse things to be addicted to” and I’m sure whatever you decide they will turn out fine…if fine is what you’re shooting for.

    • I hear what you’re saying, Eric, and I agree. Caffeine is my drug of choice as well. If not kept in check, it could possibly pose problems down the road. At the same time, though, I’m not convinced a small frappe is going to lead to a dependency issue. She won’t develop that until she has kids of her own. 🙂

      • It’s funny to say “She won’t develop that until she has kids of her own,” but the first step in self-medicating is finding out that you can. From there it’s just a slippery slope. How did you develop your dependency? Did it not start with something small and occasional?

        Besides exposing her small body and developing mind to an addictive substance, you’re passing up an opportunity to teach her about how some things may have a greater impact on growing bodies and minds and do more harm to them, and about dependency and self-medication (with a relatively safe topic) and coping skills, and self control and restraint.

Leave a Reply

