I’d Give Anything

Standard

They say that it’s something all dads experience, that it’s normal. An unavoidable part of life. Something to be worked though and learned from. They may be right, but that does nothing to lessen the sting of rejection. These emotions need to be unshackled. Soon. I haven’t written poetry since my goth phase in high school. It sucked then and it sucks now. Still, I feel the need to write, and so I do.

I’d Give Anything

I’d give anything to bring back

The smile you used to have

I’d give anything to return

To the time we used to get along

But you keep pushing and pulling and running away

I’d give anything today

I’d give anything to hold you

While we laugh and play

I’d give anything to hug you

And wipe your tears away

But you keep pushing and pulling and running away

I’d give anything today

I’d give anything to know why

You can’t seem to stand me

I’d give anything to know just

What it is that I did wrong

But you keep pushing and pulling and running away

I’d give anything today

I’d give anything to have back

My special little dude

I’d give anything today

One thought on “I’d Give Anything

Leave a Reply

