Finally a Book Dads Actually Want to Read! All Pro Dad – Seven Essentials to Be a Hero to Your Kids

Standard

AllProDadBook

So you wanted to be a superhero, huh? Don’t feel bad, big guy – we all did. We wanted to savage the villain, save the day, and scoop up the damsel in distress… even if it meant running around in absurdly tight tights and a ridiculous mask. Eventually, we put down the juice boxes and sobered up a bit to realize that we were more likely to be picked first in gym class than fly around Metropolis. That being said, being a dad is so much more awesome than changing in phone booths or dodging attacks from a sadist creep in clown makeup – and you can still be a hero to your kids. Not sure how? Keep reading and find out for yourself.

At the beginning of  last school year, I started an All Pro Dad chapter at my daughter’s school and became Team Captain of the Father-centric program. During that time, I learned and shared many helpful ways to become a better dad. When I found out that All Pro Dad co-founder Mark Merrill had written a book, I jumped at the chance to get an advanced copy for review. Since Father’s Day is just around the corner, I find it only appropriate that you know why this book is so awesome… if only so you can drop a not so subtle hint to the wife and kids about what you want this year.

All Pro Dad – Seven Essentials to Be a Hero to Your Kids takes a realistic and meaningful look at your job as a father and draws up the X’s and O’s for a winning gameplan to be the dad your kids need you to be. Seriously, just look at the title! Who doesn’t want to be their kid’s hero? After reading the foreword by Tony Dungy, you’ll be asked a few questions over the remaining pages. Who am I?, What’s my purpose?, and What should I model to my children? are a few examples of the questions you can expect to have answers for as you embark on the journey of becoming an All Pro Dad.

At the end of each chapter, you’re provided with “huddle” questions to ask your kids. These little zingers can be painful, especially if you’ve been the “Do as I say, not as I do” kind of parent. Try asking your five-year-old if she’s seen you act selfishly or how you could be more patient with her. Sometimes the truth hurts, but it’ll be worth it at the end when you have a more connected and meaningful relationship with your children.

I highly recommend you put this at the top of your Father’s Day wish list. For my female readers, get your guy this book and watch his relationship with your children take off faster than Flash Gordon.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Comission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

